Saturday, March 27, 2010

Neugebauer Wins Bruce Gold Medal

Congratulations to Gerry Neugebauer, former director of Palomar Observatory, for winning the 2010 C.W. Bruce Gold Medal from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific.

Dr. Neugebauer joins an exclusive list of the many top astronomers over the last century or so to have won the prize. This list includes many people who also had an association with Palomar Observatory including (but not limited to) George Ellery Hale, Walter S. Adams, Edwin P. Hubble, Walter Baade, Ira S. Bowen, Rudolph Minkowski, Horace W. Babcock, Jesse Greenstein, Allan Sandage, Olin C. Wilson, Maarten Schmidt, and Wallace Sargent.

No comments: